A New Plan – Every Other Week Purchase

I was having dinner with Debbie of Recovering Shopaholic last month when we got to talking about, well, shopping!  I commented on how it should be enough to buy something every other week or so.  And you know what?  It should.  I got to thinking that I might want to try it out as a means to rein in my shopping while still allowing me to update and replace my wardrobe gradually.

9-6-outfit

Debbie and I in matching cobalt, of course!

Every other week equates to 26 items in a year.  I’ve been in the ballpark of 40 or so the last few years and know I could make do with less, I just haven’t required it of myself.  What would happen if I finally curtailed my wants that bit more?  Would I still be satisfied?  Surely 2 weeks is not very long to wait to buy whatever shiny new thing that catches my eye!

With my usual Shopping List template in hand, I got to adjusting the allotted slots for items:

bi-weekly-shop-plan

I would not ‘count’ basics and gear in this scenario but would still list the amount spent in the overall budget.  I gave quite a bit of attention to gear/lounge/active this 2016 shopping year and feel I can throttle back in that department again to just updating as things wear out.

I realize the remaining slots equal 27, and not 26, items.  In the past I have not filled every line.  Usually shoes or accessories come up short.  Or maybe I don’t need a coat that year, or a skirt.  At any rate, this is about as close as I can accurately foresee my shopping needs.

Incidentally, this equates to one shirt or topper each month, for there are 12 of those slots.  I can still shop seasonally, just more regularly spaced apart.  A shirt for each month, weather appropriate (tank in summer, sweater in winter, etc.)  Rationally, this should be enough.  I hope emotionally I will feel satisfied at this slower rate of shopping.

The bottoms are just as seasonally intuitive.  Dresses in spring and fall, shorts and a skirt in summer, pants in winter.  I won’t get to buy one of these each month, like with the tops, but that’s okay.  Like I said, I have enough to get dressed.  These are wants and updates, not true needs.

Shoes will be a one per season purchase.  Boots for winter, sandals in summer, flats or sneakers for spring and/or fall.  In this category I’ve already been shopping this way for a few years now, and find it works great for my wear rates and need for variety.

Looks like accessories equal one per season as well.  I’m not a huge accessories gal, but I expect I’ll buy a bag for the year, maybe a belt or hat, a piece of jewelry and perhaps a scarf.

This should cover all my bases and not find me truly needing anything.  In recent shopping years, I’ve toyed with seasonal shopping.  It didn’t work out – mostly because I was attempting to do it in bigger ‘chunks’.  4 to 6 items at the start of January and then just maybe one a month to refresh for the rest of winter, for example.  That’s not how I naturally shop and I found it was harder to do.  I do better at steadily doling treats out.  Whether it’s cookies, or wine, or clothes shopping.  This is where I hope the every two week rate will quench my desire but still keep everything under control.

Essentially, I can get a top every month, a bottom every other, and a shoe and accessory each season.  I don’t have to buy things in such a regimented way if I don’t want, but it shows that I can still keep updates coming at a reasonable pace, season by season.

If I do buy a couple items at once, I will wait out the corresponding 2 week interlude per item, to resume the shopping plan’s bi-weekly rate.  As for budget amount, I don’t often have issue with spending too much, but rather having too many things, so I am leaving it open.  I assume I’ll end up somewhere between $1200 to $1500.

So, that’s the plan for 2017!  Do you have any ideas about fine tuning how you shop?  A new plan?

5 thoughts on “A New Plan – Every Other Week Purchase

  1. Pingback: Hypothetical Summer 2016 Project 333 Capsule Wardrobe | Recovering Shopaholic

  2. Pingback: Shopping Priorities & Purchase Update – October 2016 | Recovering Shopaholic

  3. Pingback: Do You Wear Your Clothes 30 or More Times? | Recovering Shopaholic

  4. Pingback: The Best of Recovering Shopaholic 2016 | Recovering Shopaholic

Leave a Reply

