Changes

I realize I’ve been missing in action for 2 full months now!!  This was completely unintentional but also makes sense, in that I don’t want to post just for the sake of posting.  I wait until I have something I feel I want to share or say.  I have been busy trying to sort out life.  Job issues, changing dynamics in friendships and my relationship, altering some long standing habits – big stuff.  The clothing has taken a backseat.

I have still been keeping with my list to shop, and am on track with budget for the year so far as well.  I just have been seeking moderation in so much more than my closet.  Guess I’m dealing with midlife stuff.  I tend to coast along in the comfort zone, whatever that may be, rather than make changes that can sometimes be difficult.  This year I have taken more of a driver’s seat in my own life.  It’s different.  And others don’t always react well when YOU are changing and they aren’t.  But it’s important, and good for the soul, to take charge of your own destiny (as much as any of us has control that is lol).

Getting back to the closet . . . Lately I found myself purchasing basics and gear, or althleisure oriented, items.  This is great, since I’ve historically bought the ‘going out’ looks but spend most of my time dressing for the other categories in my life.  Better to be buying for the categories most worn, if not most fun to shop for.  Though, I  must admit, I am finding the athleisure/gear kinda fun.  Why not look cute playing tennis or riding your bike to the beach?  This also ties in a bit to some of my life changes.  I would rather spend my off time being active outside having fun than sitting in a bar or eating out.  Not that I don’t love a good happy hour with snacks now and again!  But I want to experience life, not just sit through it.  Luckily, most of my friends like to do both. I’m hoping for an awesome summer filled with days of fun in the sun.

Changes to my work schedule will allow for that.  Last year I had stretches of 2 and 3 weeks straight of work, missing out on fun times others were having.   Not this year.  I had to do some finagling, dealing with insurance,  and long discussions with my BF but I have arranged to do part time at both jobs so that I can have normal days off and live more of a full life.  This makes me happy.  That I made the choice.  I did the legwork of dealing with the insurance red tape.  I confronted the boss(es) and told them what I was, and wasn’t, available for.  I took an active role.  It’s my life.  I get to decide how to live it. 🙂

I promise I’ll be back with a shopping and closet inventory update.  It’s 1/3 the way through the year and a perfect time to take stock.  Until then, know that I’m still seeking moderation in my shopping, but also in my life as a whole.

 

2 thoughts on “Changes

Leave a Reply

