2015 Shopping Plan – progress at the 3/4 mark

Okay, so fall is 2 weeks away, but I’m not buying anything before then so I thought I’d check in on my 2015 shopping – the plan vs the reality.  I’m doing pretty well with my totals so far – yay!  The seasonal part, not so much.

I started out the year with the seasonal shopping plan in mind, and got 7 items in the first ‘big shop’ month.  Then, things sort of fell back into old patterns.  Starting in spring, I see I’m back to averaging 3 items a month.  So I only did the seasonal shopping for winter.

As a reminder, here is how I imagined a shift to seasonal shopping might pan out for me:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This leaves me thinking about whether I simply lost focus, or if I’m better suited to a slow and steady year round shopping cycle.

Another part of shopping is of course budget.  I did not have a set amount, but rather a rough idea of what I’d be spending.  I’m at $1500 for the year, which is on track for a $2,000 total by year’s end.  I’m okay with this.  Fully 1/3 of this amount is spent on basics/essentials/uniforms.  While this is awesome (I’m spending a lot of money where I NEED to) it leaves me questioning why I have so much of my budget sort of ‘pushed aside’ and not included in my main list.

others shop 2015

I also don’t usually count these items in my closet totals.  But they are a part of my wardrobe.  An important part, being that I wear these items more than any of my ‘going out’ clothing.  Again, this leaves me questioning my methods.  They do need to be included, but how?

I’m thinking of adjusting next year’s shopping list to summarily include some basics and gear.  Not as detailed as item by item, but maybe just a slot for ‘underwear’ that includes a set of socks, bras, and panties.  A slot for lounge/layer that includes leggings and camis. That sort of thing.

2016 shop plan

I dunno, I’m still in the working it out phase.  But I feel like not including them is somehow not really being accountable to where my shopping dollars and focus are going.

At any rate, that’s it for now, 3/4 the way through the year.  Did you embark on a seasonal approach, and if so did you stick with it?  What tips do you have for those like me who seem to keep the steady stream coming in instead?

2 thoughts on “2015 Shopping Plan – progress at the 3/4 mark

  1. I wouldn’t have thought this when you first laid out your “seasonal shopping” plan, but now I suspect that you’ve sort of set yourself up for this “slow and steady” shopping pattern. Even though you do have the “big shop” planned for the early part of each season, I suspect that by allowing yourself 1 or 2 items the remaining months you are making it likely that you’ll buy more. That is, if you allowing yourself to look or plan to look for just ONE thing, inevitably two or three will make it into your cart more often than not. That’s the way it is with me anyway and I’d bet for a lot of people. I think that if you REALLY want to switch to seasonal shopping, you are going to have to be more strict about it, at least at first, and really totally disconnect from shopping in the intervening months between your start-of-season shops.

    For the record, I don’t think that strategy is necessarily “better.” (I take the time to say this because I think that with the recent hullabaloo about capsule wardrobes and shopping bans, seasonal shopping has started to take on a kind of moral significance, you know? And I don’t buy — ha! — it.) But, if that’s really where you want to go, you might need a different strategy to get there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol at your last comment! I don’t know if I think one way is better than the other, more than I wanted to try a different approach. Seems I’m coming back around now in pre-fall (haven’t kept a purchase since July) so maybe I do have it in me. Perhaps I just got a bit off kilter mid-summer? Which oddly, doesn’t make much sense since I have plenty of warm weather clothing. BUT, I didn’t buy just summer stuff at that time. I bought out of season a bit (the jeans, the faux leather mixed media jacket). Must think on this further.
      I do think a move from categorizing shirts in tank/short/long sleeved tops to warm/cold season is a good start. I’ll go with that moving forward for sure. I also think in some ways I’m still building a core wardrobe with quality items and that purchasing rate will calm down some in the future (leather skirt, colorful wool winter coat, dark wash jeans – can you believe I had no dark wash jeans for so many years??). So maybe I can get to a seasonal refresh once I’ve gotten the main holes plugged with decent, quality items instead of the haphazard items accumulated over the previous years.

      Like

Leave a Reply

