Closet numbers – the recount

It occurs to me I had my 45th birthday as a signpost for more closet reduction.  For a while now 150 has been my comfortable max, but with some analyzing I saw that I could easily trim some down to extrapolated Project 333 numbers.  That is, 33 items for each of 4 seasons, or 132 items.  https://moderatewardrobe.wordpress.com/2015/01/19/paring-down-more/

Time to get into my closet and see how close I am to my projected numbers!

  •  5 coats
  • 12 jackets
  • 27 shirts
  • 12 sweaters
  • 15 pants
  • 14 dresses
  • 7 skirts
  • 7 shorts
  • 30 shoes
  • 1 jumpsuit
  • 1 vest
  • 1 sweatshirt

I did not include items strictly for layering like camisoles (maybe 4 or 5) and layer tops I put under my polo at the supermarket (again maybe 4 or 5).  I also did not count exercise only gear, or uniform only items (2 pants, 3 shoes, 1 hoodie).  I counted items I would wear as stand alone articles in an outfit for going out into the world.

Okay, I only just now tabulated the totals as I’m posting, and see that I am at exactly 132.  How weird is that?!  I included a cargo skirt on the way from an eBay auction that I hope works out.  I think it is no coincidence that I am very happy with my closet amount as of late and am having very little issue with demoting or culling items at a rate even to my purchasing. I am at a good for me amount right now.

I’ll bet by year’s end I just may be able to pare down to the ‘Dozens’ numbers I mentioned in the Paring Down post.  Something has just clicked this year for me.  I’m not sure exactly what, but I have a sense more than ever of having ‘just enough’ and being totally content with it.

2 thoughts on “Closet numbers – the recount

  1. Thx. I know I have been posting less frequently but I’d rather post when I have something to share than post more often and not really say a lot. Oh, and working 8 of 9 days this stretch has a little to do with it, too. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

