Mountain town casual

Sticking with the theme of authenticity, these are quick snaps before running out the door.  No bothering with lipstick or styling my hair or whatnot.  Just me going about my daily life, doing the mundane things we all do 🙂  Yeah, I know, real to a fault.  Truth be told, it took me until my late 30’s to get behind the idea of sometimes wearing a bra with padding or push up.  I was that against the idea of somehow falsifying my image.  Maybe TMI there, huh?  At any rate, I’ve always been a what you see is what you get kind of gal.

I do realize better lighting would do us all a favor, despite my lack of wanting to ‘stage’ any shots.  Sorry about that.  I just don’t know a good alternative spot yet for quick shoot and go times.

These outfits were to go to the grocery and drug stores today, and to drop in for some final paperwork at my golf course job Friday. Not quite 50 degrees both days.  Not cold, but a chill in the air for sure.  I have no delusions that this is high fashion to anyone!  But there is a nod to trends.

Today’s look includes a resurgence of the grunge trend, in a buffalo plaid shirt.  I especially liked the zip back detail so I scooped this up a few months ago while still in FL heat, with an eye toward this fall in Tahoe.  I wore flannels a lot in the 80’s in high school and for just a moment when they were big in the 90’s.  Safe to say it’s been well over a decade since I’ve donned one.  But I’ve had fun with this one.

The boots are faux Uggs, which are a huge no no to a lot of fashionistas.  Well, spend some time in the mountains and you may change your tune.  Even though it’s not snowing this week, the pull on factor can’t be beat for quick errands like today.  I’d just finished an afternoon run and showered, needing a handful of things from town.  Yes, I ‘go to town’, as down-home as that sounds; I live kind of in the boonies.

The jeans are on the chopping block.  I got them second hand and thought they’d be great under boots in winter and as crops in summer, but the rise is just too low.  I measured today when I got back home and found them under 8″.  No wonder I have to yank on them all the time.  Next!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The nod to trends here is the open weave sweater and the booties.  I love this shade of berry and when I found it in the open stitch design I had on my list, it was a go.  I happened to have a perfectly matching Target tank from years prior to layer underneath.  That’s the beauty of a defined color palette – a have a bevy of berry.

I can’t describe how indispensable these white jeans have been for me.  I hunted for months.  Returned plenty until I found ‘the one’.  Who cares about white after Labor Day silly rules??  Not me!

The booties were an eBay score and I was hesitant at first on the lilac.  I knew I wanted a lighter colored bootie and with the blues, greens, and berry colors I have in my closet they go just fine.  They don’t match, but they go.  Funny, these (and my duplicate pair in black) garner compliments when I least expect it.  My supervisor at the golf course said, “cool boots”.  And a random man in the checkout lane at Grocery Outlet complimented my black pair last week standing behind me in line, as did a hairdresser when I visited my friend in her salon.  I’ll take it!  Random compliments are the best.

So, I’m not breaking fashion boundaries here, but having fun getting dressed for the day to day life I lead, nonetheless.  Soon the snow will come, and keep coming, and the layers will follow.  Right now I’m enjoying the freedom of fall temps and the variety I can pull from my closet to match.

3 thoughts on “Mountain town casual

  1. I, too, love your boots and you’ve given me a great idea about putting a back zipper into a plaid shirt. I find that however much I can narrow down my palette is a big help to me – especially since I shop/purge by color first of all – but have a ways to go still to really settle into one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love that back zipper detail on the shirt! So cute! And I do uggs in the mountains too. We have a cabin in the Southern Oregon Cascades; it’s 30 miles to town one way… So yeah, you don’t run back for the Parmesan cheese or hair conditioner if you forgot it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Mountain Town Casual – Updated | MOderate wardrobe

Leave a Reply

